top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard

What does a nurse do?

This appears a very simple question, but I never dreamt that on starting my career 39yrs ago, having always wanted to be a nurse, that I would be starting on a journey which has allowed me to transform, into many different uniforms, just like Mr Ben changing his costumes (those of a certain age will know who I mean)!!!!!


During my journey as a nurse, I have cared for patients admitted unwell to hospital, delivered babies as a midwife, enabled people to work in a safe and healthy environment as an Occupational Health Nurse, and cared for every age group of the population as a Practice Nurse, administering immunisations to babies and children, undertaking screening programmes, and caring for the elderly.


So what does a nurse do? Not a simple question, however I know that every patient I have met has wanted to be treated with dignity, respect and kindness, that is what a nurse does, in whatever uniform they wear, and it is has been a privilege to be one.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Never Had a Career Plan

Today Kirsten shares her story of how Nursing took her to Bondi Beach. For me, the drive to work in mental health nursing was to contribute to a more socially-just society. My first job was as a healt

Following the Wise Words of Florence Nightingale

Following the Wise Words of Florence Nightingale. If a nurse declines to do these kinds of things for her patient, ‘because it is not her business’, I should say that nursing was not her calling -Flor

bottom of page