top of page
  • Writer's pictureCara Southgate

Day 8 A Matrons Story. A Need for Resilience in Challenging Times.

Updated: Jul 12, 2018



We have heard some of our Community Hospital Matrons stories. Today we hear from Helen. Helen is the Matron of two community hospitals at present. As this can present challenges with not ever being where you need to be but Helen does this with the skills gained through her nursing career.


Helen has recently returned to the Community Hospital where she started her healthcare career.


I asked Helen the same questions I had asked the other Matrons but as you will see the answers are all different as each Matron shares their story.


Helen what was your inspiration to be a Nurse?


‘I worked at Blandford Hospital as a HCA at 19 years of age & I wanted to be a Social Worker but the Ward Sister thought I would be a great nurse and she became a huge motivation for me to start my training. She would be very proud of me returning to Blandford as Matron!’


Where did you train?


‘ I trained at Salisbury General Infirmary sadly no longer there. I finished my training at Salisbury District Hospital.’


Helen what is your Dream Job?


‘My ultimate ambition is to be a Director of Nursing.’


What has been your highlight of career so far?


‘When I got my first Sister’s post and went into the navy uniform that felt like a huge step. When I applied for my Matrons post it went out to national advert so I was in competition from many others . I was so proud to be successful.


Helen what has been the biggest challenge so far?


‘When it was the announced that the community hospital I am Matron of is to close. It has been a real challenge supporting staff, retaining staff and continuing on provide high quality care has been a challenge. I am very proud of the team and their professionalism during this difficult time.’


What is the daily life of a Matron like?


‘Every day is different, you never know what might happen! Yes we do attend a lot of meetings but I view this as my opportunity to influence patient care and that is what is important to me.’


What would you tell a future Matron?


‘This role allows you to influence patient care and ensure patients receive high quality care. Know your patients and work with your staff, both are of equal importance.’


Favourite Quotes?


Stay calm and carry on!


Helen has faced some challenging times and has proved that nurses can face anything head on with the aim of ensuring patients receive the highest standards of care and colleagues are supported.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Never Had a Career Plan

Today Kirsten shares her story of how Nursing took her to Bondi Beach. For me, the drive to work in mental health nursing was to contribute to a more socially-just society. My first job was as a healt

What does a nurse do?

This appears a very simple question, but I never dreamt that on starting my career 39yrs ago, having always wanted to be a nurse, that I would be starting on a journey which has allowed me to transfor

bottom of page