top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard

I Left School Without a Clue About My Future

Today Theresa shares her story. Having left school with no idea about her future career Theresa found her true vocation and sense of belonging.

I left school without a clue about my future, until I moved house. Then one morning, over coffee with my new neighbour I happened upon Mental Health Nursing. I had never considered a career in nursing or looking after people with mental health problems, until then.


I’d always thought that nurses had more traditional roles, they worked in Hospitals, emptied bed pans, made beds and took temperatures. I was clearly very naïve.


My neighbour told me all about her career and her work, the variety, no one day was the same and from that moment on I didn’t look back.


I began my Nurse training in Cornwall about 6 months later and loved every minute. I felt as if I had truly found my vocation and a sense of belonging. My work colleagues were brilliant, supporting me but also becoming my friends. Even now I can remember the names and faces of patients I cared for more than 25 years ago and I’m still in touch with work colleagues from my first nursing job. They leave their mark in your memory forever.


I’ve had a variety of different roles over the years, each one chosen because I wanted to develop and learn and I’ve been given lots of opportunity to be the best Nurse I could be.

Today I am a Clinical Service Manager in Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services, as a Manager I like to think that I inspire others to develop and be the best nurses they can be. In doing that we can we can all deliver the best patient care to Children and Families. I have always worked in the NHS because I believe that the NHS delivers excellent care, but it needs all sorts of Professionals who are passionate and caring.


Being a Nurse is a privilege and a journey I will never forget.

24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

I Never Had a Career Plan

Today Kirsten shares her story of how Nursing took her to Bondi Beach. For me, the drive to work in mental health nursing was to contribute to a more socially-just society. My first job was as a healt

What does a nurse do?

This appears a very simple question, but I never dreamt that on starting my career 39yrs ago, having always wanted to be a nurse, that I would be starting on a journey which has allowed me to transfor

bottom of page