top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard

I Nearly Missed The Interview



Today Louise shares her story. After many years as an Intensive Care Sister her passion for quality and safety led to a change of direction and Louise joined DHC to take on the role of Patient Safety Manager.

I began my nursing career in 1983, I remember getting off a bus in the middle of Leamington Spa, way before the invention of google maps, with no idea where to go. I walked for a very long time in a brand new pair of high heeled shoes and eventually found the School of Nursing. Thankfully I think the Director of Nursing felt sorry for me and offered me a place to start an incredibly exciting and rewarding career in nursing.


I loved every minute of my nurse training and met some inspiring and slightly scary ward sisters.


My first placement was on a female medical ward , I got into trouble in the first week , boldly answering the telephone in the sisters office and declaring to relatives that it was fine to collect their Mum on Friday to go home for the weekend ! The first of many lessons learnt, always refer to the nurse in charge!


After qualifying I went to work in Intensive Care (ITU), I completed the ITU course and honestly thought I would never work anywhere else. Life took me to different places but I stayed within the speciality for the next 25 years, meeting the most incredible patients and families at the most distressing times of their lives. My sons have borne the brunt of an over anxious mother as a consequence, always pointing out the worst that could happen.


A chance friendship with a senior NHS manager made me realise there may be more to the NHS than ITU. I branched out into service improvement and was very lucky to study leadership and quality at master’s level but I missed the patients . A ward managers post on a busy , emergency surgical ward came next , the Deputy Director of Nursing told me I had no idea how challenging that role would be , he was right . Although when he later asked me what I was most proud of in my career , I said ‘Ward 11’.


I progressed from ward manager to matron for surgery and from there to matron for theatres. Along the way I have been encouraged and supported by some truly inspiring leaders who have often nudged me out of my comfort zone. I wouldn’t change a thing and remain as proud to be a nurse today as I was 35 years ago in my cap with one stripe .

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Never Had a Career Plan

Today Kirsten shares her story of how Nursing took her to Bondi Beach. For me, the drive to work in mental health nursing was to contribute to a more socially-just society. My first job was as a healt

What does a nurse do?

This appears a very simple question, but I never dreamt that on starting my career 39yrs ago, having always wanted to be a nurse, that I would be starting on a journey which has allowed me to transfor

bottom of page