top of page
  • Writer's pictureCara Southgate

Nursing Chose Me

Karen is a Locality Manager and provides Professional Leadership for our Community Hospitals. When you meet her you know instantly she is a nurse and is very proud of being so. I asked her a number of questions and here are her responses.



Why did you choose nursing?


‘I think nursing chose me, as it was never my intention to be a nurse. It just happened as other doors closed, I found this one and it opened, and I have to say it has been one of the best opportunities that has come my way and I wouldn’t change it for anything.’


What is your current role?


‘I am currently Locality Manager for Mid and West Dorset and Professional Lead for Community Hospitals. I feel very lucky in my role as I have tremendous peer support and very dedicated hard working, creative, flexible teams to work with.’


What are you most proud of?


‘Pride comes about with a job well done and building trust and good working relationships ensure that. I hope to make significant contributions to the success of my teams, and I feel pride or rather a feeling of satisfaction when that comes about.’


What is your dream job?


‘Minister of Health!!’


Favourite quotes?


“ Where the needs of the world and your talents cross, there lies your vocation.” Aristotle.

‘I have always thought that was a great quote for nursing - a little troubling when one considers he tutored Alexander the Great who saw a need to start wars, but I blame Alexander for that rather than Aristotle.’


What would you tell future nurses?


‘Nursing is a rewarding career, for you get an opportunity to make a difference every day, but don’t expect patients to always act in their own best interests.’


What has been your biggest challenge?


‘Meeting my own expectations.’


Thank you Karen with the current political changes there may be opportunities for you....

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Never Had a Career Plan

Today Kirsten shares her story of how Nursing took her to Bondi Beach. For me, the drive to work in mental health nursing was to contribute to a more socially-just society. My first job was as a healt

What does a nurse do?

This appears a very simple question, but I never dreamt that on starting my career 39yrs ago, having always wanted to be a nurse, that I would be starting on a journey which has allowed me to transfor

bottom of page